Skip to content

of Standards

April 29, 2008

I will not be held to the standards of a mortal society the likes of whose immorality has not been seen since Sodom and Gomorra. I refuse to hold myself part and parcel to the pattern set before me by the ungodly. No matter how many stand up and seek to convince me to follow the path chosen for me by those who dwell in the temporal world; I will take shelter in knowing that I have achieved immortality in that even if I am slain I will not die. Therefore the ever-changing standards and edicts of the mortal realm do not hold sway over my future, nor do they influence the decisions I make concerning how I live my life. Instead, knowing that I have achieved immortality in being crucified with Christ, I need not fear the opinions or censure of any mortal who walks according to his own selfish desires.

The greatness of those who have set the standards of society is what brings war. The goodness of those who have set the standards of society is what brings hatred. The glory of those who have set the standards of society is what brings lust. But it is the goodness of God that destroys all these in the eternal fire of Hell, and it is the goodness of God that nullifies the standards they have set forth upon the Earth. 

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 22, 2010 12:02 pm

    Jeremiah, we move through this world as light in the midst of darkness… just as you said, very well written and what the Lord taught us. Not to waver in our faith and hope no matter what occurs around us. Jesus said many many times in the book of John that we are not of this world. He also said “as long as I am in the world, I am the light of the world” John 9:5, many times in the book of John He speaks about this world and about his followers, you and I, and many times he points out that in every situation while living in this world and meeting a quantity of people, we are his ‘lighthouse’, the light is inside us letting it shine out always for others to see and we are like that because we have that wonderful hope you speak about and Jesus’ Holy Spirit. If we fail to go forth into the open doors He offer us we fall short of his design for our lives. It really is not our decision, it is God’s decision and we must follow. Remember, we can’t hide our light under a bush. (paraphrasing)
    By the way, you are invited for a succulent dinner with us, and bring your very special girl, give us a call.
    God’s blessings.

Leave a Reply

